V, S, M
A derivative of the Fire Shield spell (both count as the same spell). Thin and wispy flames wreathe your body for the duration, shedding bright light in a 10-foot radius and dim light for an additional 10 feet. You can end the spell early by using an action to dismiss it.
The flames provide you with a warm shield (or a chill shield, as it's alternative suggests). The warm shield grants you resistance to cold damage (and the chill shield grants you resistance to fire damage).
In addition, whenever a creature within 5 feet of you hits you with a melee attack, the shield erupts with flame and the attacker takes 2d8 fire damage (or 2d8 cold damage from a cold shield).
a bit of phosphorus or a firefly
Protego di Incendo
Verbal Component (Alternative):
Mystic powers that I now wield, summon forth a burning/chilling shield. Classes:
Buff, DamageSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 242)
View Fire Shield Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Fire Effects
The PHB p198 clearly states "Creatures and objects that are fully immersed in water have resistance to fire damage." Other than that, there are no official rules regarding fire spells underwater. But, as always, it is always up to the DM to decide if fire spells should have different effects (i.e. half range, half area of effects, half duration, etc.). In addition, Jeremy Crawford has clearly stated, regarding a fireball vaporizing water, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."