Casting Time: 1 action
                    
Range: 500 ft                    
Components: V, S
                    
Duration: Concentration
                        
, up to 10 minutes
                    
                  
 
                  
                  
                  
                    You create linked teleportation portals that remain open for the duration. Choose two points on the ground that you can see, one point within 10 feet of you and one point within 500 feet of you. A circular portal, 10 feet in diameter, opens over each point. If the portal would open in the space occupied by a creature, the spell fails, and the casting is lost.
The portals are two-dimensional glowing rings filled with mist, hovering inches from the ground and perpendicular to it at the points you choose. A ring is visible only from one side (your choice), which is the side that functions as a portal.
Any creature or object entering the portal exits from the other portal as if the two were adjacent to each other; passing through a portal from the nonportal side has no effect. The mist that fills each portal is opaque and blocks vision through it. On your turn, you can rotate the rings as a bonus action so that the active side faces in a different direction.                  
                                      
                        Verbal Component: 
                        Porta di Arcanus                    
                        
                            Verbal Component (Alternative): 
                            Magic here, magic there, a mystic gate to forge. Enter here, travel through, the other side disgorge.                        
Classes: Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard
Domain: Travel
Tags: Teleportation
Source: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 214)                  
                    View Arcane Gate Spell Card
                    (New Window? )
                    
                    Return to Previous Page
                    
                    
                  
                  
  
                    
                                    
                    
                                    
                                                
                            Spell FAQs
                                Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
                                Can an Arcane Gate spell be facing up or down?
There is no official ruling on this subject. However, the spell's description states:
Choose two points on the ground that you can see...
This depends on the definition of "the ground". The ground is a surface that could conceivably harbor some object on it. Therefore, it is up to the DM to decide if a surface can "hold" an arcane gate. Of course, the spell's description doesn't answer many questions. Therefore, it is up to the DM to decide if...
- the gate is anchored to the "ground"
- the gate has to be perpendicular to the "ground"
- the gate can be positioned at an angle.
If you have a better answer, please send us a message.                                
                                
                                                         
                                                    
                            Other Planes and Effects
                            Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
                             
                                                        
                            
Underwater - Verbal Component
                            Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).