150 ft (20 ft
, up to 1 minute
A swirling cloud of smoke shot through with white-hot embers appears in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point within range. The cloud spreads around corners and is heavily obscured. It lasts for the duration or until a wind of moderate or greater speed (at least 10 miles per hour) disperses it.
When the cloud appears, each creature in it must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 10d8 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. A creature must also make this saving throw when it enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there.
The cloud moves 10 feet directly away from you in a direction that you choose at the start of each of your turns.
Nimbus di Incendio
Verbal Component (Alternative):
Primordial fire, a volcanic shroud, billow forth, incendiary cloud Classes:
DamageSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 253)
View Incendiary Cloud Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Fire Effects
The PHB p198 clearly states "Creatures and objects that are fully immersed in water have resistance to fire damage." Other than that, there are no official rules regarding fire spells underwater. But, as always, it is always up to the DM to decide if fire spells should have different effects (i.e. half range, half area of effects, half duration, etc.). In addition, Jeremy Crawford has clearly stated, regarding a fireball vaporizing water, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."