60 ft Components:
, up to 10 minutes
You banish a creature that you can see within range into a labyrinthine demiplane. The target remains there for the duration or until it escapes the maze.
The target can use its action to attempt to escape. When it does so, it makes a DC 20 Intelligence check. If it succeeds, it escapes, and the spell ends (a minotaur or goristro demon automatically succeeds).
When the spell ends, the target reappears in the space it left or, if that space is occupied, in the nearest unoccupied space.
Verbal Component (Alternative):
Infinite choices, countless ways, hidden paths, a mystic maze. Class:
BanishmentSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 258)
View Maze Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Maze in Sigil
As stated by the spell:
You banish a creature that you can see within range into a labyrinthine demiplane.
From Planescape Adventures in the Multiverse, Sigil and the Outlands:
Extradimensional Space. Extradimensional spaces, demiplanes, and pocket dimensions—such as those created by a bag of holding or the rope trick spell—function within Sigil, but those spaces follow all these restrictions as if they were part of the city.
Therefore, the maze spell will work normally, but you cannot plane shift
out of the demiplane created by the spell to escape Sigil, because you cannot plane shift
out of Sigil...
Planar Travel. Effects that allow interplanar travel, such as astral projection or plane shift, fail if used to try to enter or leave Sigil
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).