30 ft (
V, S, M
, up to 1 minute
A sphere of shimmering force encloses a creature or object of Large size or smaller within range. An unwilling creature must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is enclosed for the duration.
Nothing — not physical objects, energy, or other spell effects — can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the sphere can breathe there. The sphere is immune to all damage, and a creature or object inside can't be damaged by attacks or effects originating from outside, nor can a creature inside the sphere damage anything outside it.
The sphere is weightless and just large enough to contain the creature or object inside. An enclosed creature can use its action to push against the sphere's walls and thus roll the sphere at up to half the creature's speed. Similarly, the globe can be picked up and moved by other creatures.
A disintegrate spell targeting the globe destroys it without harming anything inside it.
a hemispherical piece of clear crystal and a matching hemispherical piece of gum arabic
Sie Decipulo Orbis Potentia
Verbal Component (Alternative):
For you a prison I summon to appear, entrapped within my most resilient sphere. Classes:
Wizard, Rogue, ArtificerDomain:
WardingSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 264)
View Otiluke's Resilient Sphere Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
If you are affecting a target with telekinesis and an ally put you inside Otiluke's resilient sphere, can you continue affecting the target or other targets with the existing telekinesis spell?
You can maintain your telekinetic grip on a target you were already affecting, but you can't affect a new target. The sphere provides total cover that stops you from targeting anything outside it. [source: Sage Advice Compendium]
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).