Casting Time: 1 bonus action
                    
Range: Self                    
Components: V
                    
Duration: Concentration
                        
, up to 1 minute
                    
Damage Type: Psychic
Save: Wisdom
                  
 
                  
                  
                  
                    The next time you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack during this spell's duration, your weapon pierces both body and mind, and the attack deals an extra 4d6 psychic damage to the target. The target must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, it has disadvantage on attack rolls and ability checks, and can't take reactions, until the end of its next turn.                  
                                      
                        Verbal Component: 
                        Oppugno Vastare Ferio                    
                        
                            Verbal Component (Alternative): 
                            By my oath, your mind I blight, I strike you down with a staggering smite.                        
Class: Paladin
Tags: Damage
Source: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 278)                  
                    View Staggering Smite Spell Card
                    (New Window? )
                    
                    Return to Previous Page
                    
                    
                  
                  
  
                    
                                    
                    
                                    
                                                
                            Spell FAQs
                                
                                    
                                    
                                    
                                
                                
                                There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), 
send us a message.
                                
                                    Submit a FAQ
                                
                                
                                    
                                    
                                    
                                
                                                         
                                                    
                            Other Planes and Effects
                            Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
                             
                                                        
                            
Underwater - Verbal Component
                            Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).