30 ft Components:
V, S, M
, up to 1 minute
A creature of your choice that you can see within range perceives everything as hilariously funny and falls into fits of laughter if this spell affects it. The target must succeed on a wisdom saving throw or fall prone, becoming incapacitated and unable to stand up for the duration. A creature with an Intelligence score of 4 or less isn't affected.
At the end of each of its turns, and each time it takes damage, the target can make another wisdom saving throw. The target has advantage on the saving throw if it's triggered by damage. On a success, the spell ends.
tiny tarts and a feather that is waved in the air
Maledictum Horribilis Risus
Verbal Component (Alternative):
A giggling curse of cackling chatter, a plague upon you, of uncontrollable laughter. Classes:
Bard, Wizard, RogueTags:
Charm, DebuffSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 280)
View Tasha's Hideous Laughter Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
The wording in Tasha's hideous laughter implies that the incapacitated effect applies only if the target is made prone. Is this right?
No. Failing a save against Tasha's hideous laughter means you're incapacitated even if you can't fall prone. [source: Sage Advice Compendium]
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).