Self (15 ft
A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn't pushed. In addition, unsecured objects that are completely within the area of effect are automatically pushed 10 feet away from you by the spell's effect, and the spell emits a thunderous boom audible out to 300 feet.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the damage increases by 1d8 for each slot level above 1st.
Creo Fluctus Tonitrua
Verbal Component (Alternative):
I summon forth a thunderous wave; A booming blast, sending foes to their grave. Classes:
Bard, Druid, Sorcerer, Wizard, RogueDomain:
DamageSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 282)
View Thunderwave Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
Is the caster the "center" of a thunderwave?
No, Thunderwave is not centered on the caster. And it cannot be. Jeremy Crawford explains this in a twitter post
, but let's clarify.
First, we look at "Range" (PHB p.202):
Spells that create [areas of effect] that originate from you also have a range of self, indicating that the origin point of the spell's effect must be you.
And then look at "Areas of Effect" (PHB p.204):
Cube You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect.... A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
As stated in the spell description, the origin is on the caster. But the origin is one of the cube's faces (and the rest of the cube forms from that face).
Some examples of how this would work:
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Thunder Effects
None of the thunder spells mention water interaction in any way. In addition, the section in the PHB about underwater combat (pg. 198) doesn't mention anything about thunder spells behaving differently in water. So officially, there are no rules amplifiying or diminishing the spell effects. In addition, Jeremy Crawford has made a comment regarding a fireball in water that relates to this subject, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."