Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
Does a Wall of Force provide total cover?
D&D 5e designer Jeremy Crawford, in an unofficial ruling, confirms in a tweet that wall of force provides total cover:
Q: could a wizard make a sphere around a creature using wall of force and then chill touch to damage them through the wall?
Crawford: Unless a spell says otherwise, you can't target someone behind total cover (PH, 204)
Also here, in specific reference to wall of force:
Q: Wall of Force is invisible...so it doesn't provide cover does it?
Crawford: Cover is a physical obstruction, not necessarily a visual one.
The reason wall of force blocks spells is that it, as an obstacle, it provides total cover to anyone fully behind it as per PHB p.196:
A target has total cover if it is completely concealed by an obstacle.
Crawford's unofficial ruling confirms that "concealed" here is a synonym for "covered", not "invisible" as it meant in earlier editions of the game. And, as per PHB p.204, this prevents a caster from targeting you:
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover.
Can See Invisibility "see" a Wall of Force?
No official rules exist (at the moment) regarding a Wall of Force and See Invisibility
, so the issue is entirely up to the DM. See Invisibility
clearly states that "you see invisible creatures and objects as if they were visible
." This means, the wall would appear as if it was not invisible ... but what does the wall of force look like? The name suggest it is compromised of pure 'force', whatever that may be. One might even be inclined to think of it as ethereal, which would make it seem translucent. And, if it is seen, but seen as translucent, would it now break line of sight? All of this is up to the DM.
Can a creature with Blindsense or Blindsight "see" a Wall of Force
A creature with Blindsense or Blindsight well "see" the Wall of Force as an obstruction (like any wall), and will not "see" anything on the other side of it. Think of blindsense/blindsight like echolocation, it travels in all directions but if sound wouldn't pass through then neither will blindsense/blindsight.
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.