90 ft Components:
, up to 1 minute
Flames wreathe one creature you can see within range. The target must make a Dexterity saving throw. It takes 7d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. On a failed save, the target also burns for the spell's duration. The burning target sheds bright light in a 30-foot radius and dim light for an additional 30 feet. At the end of each of its turns, the target repeats the saving throw. It takes 3d6 fire damage on a failed save, and the spell ends on a successful one. These magical flames can't be extinguished through nonmagical means.
If damage from this spell reduces a target to 0 hit points, the target is turned to ash.
Incensum Incendio Classes:
DamageSource: Elemental Evil Player's Companion (page 19)
Also found in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything
View Immolation Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Fire Effects
The PHB p198 clearly states "Creatures and objects that are fully immersed in water have resistance to fire damage." Other than that, there are no official rules regarding fire spells underwater. But, as always, it is always up to the DM to decide if fire spells should have different effects (i.e. half range, half area of effects, half duration, etc.). In addition, Jeremy Crawford has clearly stated, regarding a fireball vaporizing water, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."