150 ft (20 ft
, up to 1 minute
A 20-foot-radius sphere of whirling air springs into existence centered on a point you choose within range. The sphere remains for the spell's duration. Each creature in the sphere when it appears or that ends its turn there must succeed on a Strength saving throw or take 2d6 bludgeoning damage. The sphere's space is difficult terrain.
Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your turns to cause a bolt of lightning to leap from the center of the sphere toward one creature you choose within 60 feet of the center. Make a ranged spell attack. You have advantage on the attack roll if the target is in the sphere. On a hit, the target takes 4d6 lightning damage.
Creatures within 30 feet of the sphere have disadvantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks made to listen.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 5th level or higher, the damage increases for each of its effects by 1d6 for each slot level above 4th.
Sie Orbis di Tempestas Classes:
Sorcerer, Wizard, RogueDomain:
Damage, DebuffSource: Elemental Evil Player's Companion (page 22)
Also found in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything
View Storm Sphere Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).