30 ft Components:
V, S, M
User Created: This is an unofficial, user-created spell.
Check with your DM about using this spell.
Tap into the destructive power of the Outer Planes, dealing 4d6 radiant damage to all creature in range. All creatures with less than 50 HP must make a successful DC 15 Constitution check or die immediately. If you have less than half of your maximum spell slots, half of those who died (round down, maximum of 2) rise as visible Poltergeists for 1 minute. You can use your action on subsequent turns to direct these Poltergeists.
a shard from an angelic weapon
Causa Mortuus Ira Classes:
Damage, SummoningSource: Magic from the Multiverse
View Wrath Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Summoning in Sigil
From Planescape Adventures in the Multiverse, Sigil and the Outlands, "With the exception of permanent teleportation circles, the Lady of Pain prevents spells and other powers from allowing anything to enter the City of Doors. That means creatures and objects from outside in the multiverse can't be summoned or conjured into Sigil by any means. Summoning abilities a character might have, such as the conjure elemental spell or a class feature that summons a companion, still function as normal with these features calling only creatures that exist somewhere within Sigil itself."
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).