Casting Time: 1 action
                    
Range: Self (15 ft 
)                    
Components: V, S, M
                    
Duration: 1 round
                    
Conditions: Blinded
                   
                  
                  
                  
                    A dazzling array of flashing, colored light springs from your hand. Roll 6d10; the total is how many hit points of creatures this spell can effect. Creatures in a 15-foot cone originating from you are affected in ascending order of their current hit points (ignoring unconscious creatures and creatures that can't see).
Starting with the creature that has the lowest current hit points, each creature affected by this spell is blinded until the end of your next turn. Subtract each creature's hit points from the total before moving on to the creature with the next lowest hit points. A creature's hit points must be equal to or less than the remaining total for that creature to be affected.                  
                                      
                        
                        When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, roll an additional 2d10 for each slot level above 1st.                    
                    
                        Material Component: 
                        a pinch of powder or sand that is colored red, yellow, and blue                    
                    
                        Verbal Component: 
                        Eructor di Coloros Lumos                    
                        
                            Verbal Component (Alternative): 
                            Rainbow hues, shoot forth your ray, blind those that see, with a colorful spray.                        
Classes: Sorcerer, Wizard, Rogue
Domain: Light
Source: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 222)                  
                    View Color Spray Spell Card
                    (New Window? )
                    
                    Return to Previous Page
                    
                    
                  
                  
  
                    
                                    
                    
                                    
                                                
                            Spell FAQs
                                
                                    
                                    
                                    
                                
                                
                                There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), 
send us a message.
                                
                                    Submit a FAQ
                                
                                
                                    
                                    
                                    
                                
                                                         
                                                    
                            Other Planes and Effects
                            Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
                             
                                                        
                            
Underwater - Verbal Component
                            Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).