V, S, M
User Created: This is an unofficial, user-created spell.
Check with your DM about using this spell.
Thin and wispy flames form a cloak you wear for the duration, shedding dim light for 10 feet. The flames reduce all cold damage you take by 2 for the duration.
In addition, whenever a creature within 5 feet of you hits you with a melee attack, the cloak erupts with flame. The attacker takes 1d4 fire damage. Creatures that end their turn in a grapple with you also take 1d4 fire damage.
Finally, you can use an action to take off the cloak and throw it, creating a 15-foot cone of fire. Creatures in the cone must make Dexterity saving throws or take 2d4 fire damage, or half damage on a successful save. Once thrown, the spell ends.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, for every slot above 1st, the amount of cold damage reduced increases by 2 and the fire damage of the cone increases by 2d4.
a bit of phosphorous and a small square of wool cloth
Creo Vestium Incendio Classes:
Druid, Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard, RogueDomain:
View Cloak of Fire Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Fire Effects
The PHB p198 clearly states "Creatures and objects that are fully immersed in water have resistance to fire damage." Other than that, there are no official rules regarding fire spells underwater. But, as always, it is always up to the DM to decide if fire spells should have different effects (i.e. half range, half area of effects, half duration, etc.). In addition, Jeremy Crawford has clearly stated, regarding a fireball vaporizing water, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."