60 ft Components:
, up to 10 minutes
You summon a barlgura that appears in an unoccupied space you can see within range. The barlgura disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends. The barlgura is hostile to all non-demons. Roll initiative for the barlgura, which has its own turns. At the start of its turn, it moves toward and attacks the nearest non-demon it can perceive. If two or more creatures are equally near, it picks one at random. If it cannot see any potential enemies, the barlgura moves in a random direction in search of foes.
As part of casting the spell, you can scribe a circle on the ground using the blood of an intelligent humanoid slain within the past 24 hours. The circle is large enough to encompass your space. The summoned barlgura cannot cross the circle or target anyone in it while the spell lasts.
Invito Daemon Barlgura Classes:
Sorcerer, Wizard, RogueTags:
SummoningSource: Unearthed Arcana
View Conjure Barlgura Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Summoning in Sigil
From Planescape Adventures in the Multiverse, Sigil and the Outlands, "With the exception of permanent teleportation circles, the Lady of Pain prevents spells and other powers from allowing anything to enter the City of Doors. That means creatures and objects from outside in the multiverse can't be summoned or conjured into Sigil by any means. Summoning abilities a character might have, such as the conjure elemental spell or a class feature that summons a companion, still function as normal with these features calling only creatures that exist somewhere within Sigil itself."
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).