60 ft Components:
V, S, M
User Created: This is an unofficial, user-created spell.
Check with your DM about using this spell.
You cause up to two creatures or unattended non-magical flammable objects to catch on fire. Creatures may make Dexterity saving throws, and on a success suffer no ill effects.
A burning creature or object takes 1d6 fire damage at the start of its turn (unattended objects burn on initiative count 20). A burning object will deal 1d6 fire damage to a creature touching it if the creature ends its turn in contact with the burning object.
An affected creature may spend an action to attempt a Dexterity saving throw to put out the flames on itself or on one object. Otherwise, the fire continues to burn and may spread until it runs out of fuel.
Other effects and mundane conditions may extinguish the flames, such as being immersed in water, being in the area of Gust of Wind, or being in the area of rainfall from Create or Destroy Water. The flames are too strong to be extinguished by Druidcraft or Prestidigitation.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, you may target an additional creature or object for every slot level above 1st.
a pinch of coal dust
Bard, Druid, Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard, RogueDomain:
View Ignite Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Fire Effects
The PHB p198 clearly states "Creatures and objects that are fully immersed in water have resistance to fire damage." Other than that, there are no official rules regarding fire spells underwater. But, as always, it is always up to the DM to decide if fire spells should have different effects (i.e. half range, half area of effects, half duration, etc.). In addition, Jeremy Crawford has clearly stated, regarding a fireball vaporizing water, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."