Self (10 ft) Components:
V, S, M
, up to 1 minute
A stream of acid emanates from you in a line 30 feet long and 5 feet wide in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or be covered in acid for the spell's duration or until a creature uses its action to scrape or wash the acid off itself or another creature. A creature covered in the acid takes 2d4 acid damage at start of each of its turns.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the damage increases by 2d4 for each slot level above 1st.
a bit of rotten food
Quaeso Acidum Spargo
Verbal Component (Alternative):
A stream of acid, I shoot forth; A caustic brew, a devastating broth. Classes:
Sorcerer, Wizard, ArtificerDomain:
Combat, DamageSource: Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (page 115)
View Tasha's Caustic Brew Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).
Underwater - Acid Effects
None of the acid spells mention water interaction in any way. In addition, the section in the PHB about underwater combat (pg. 198) doesn't mention anything about acid spells behaving differently in water. So officially, there are no rules amplifiying or diminishing the spell effects. In addition, Jeremy Crawford has made a comment regarding a fireball in water that relates to this subject, "Nothing in the rules causes a fireball to vaporize water. Magic ≠ physics. DMs may apply whatever magical/scientific logic they like."
As a DM, I would personally treat acid like fire, "Creatures and objects that are fully immersed in water have resistance to fire damage." (PHB p198)