60 ft Components:
V, S, M
, up to 1 minute
You shatter the barriers between realities and timelines, thrusting a creature into turmoil and madness. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw, or it can't take reactions until the spell ends. The affected target must also roll a d10 at the start of each of its turns; the number rolled determines what happens to the target, as shown on the Reality Break Effects table.
At the end of each of its turns, the affected target can repeat the Wisdom saving throw, ending the spell on itself on a success.
1-2 Vision of the Far Realm. The target takes 6d12 psychic damage, and it is stunned until the end of the turn.
3-5 Rending Rift. The target must make a Dexterity saving throw, taking 8d12 force damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
6-8 Wormhole. The target is teleported, along with everything it is wearing and carrying, up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space of your choice that you can see. The target also takes 10d12 force damage and is knocked prone.
9-10 Chill of the Dark Void. The target takes 10d12 cold damage, and it is blinded until the end of the turn.
Verbal Component (Alternative):
I call forth madness, turmoil and pain; Nothing left, but the absurd and insane. Class:
WizardSource: Explorer's Guide to Wildemount (page 189)
View Reality Break Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
There are currenly no frequently asked questions about this spell. If you have a question, or need to know how the spell functions in the game (especially in relation to other spells, creatures and magic items), send us a message.
Submit a FAQ
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).