Level 2 •
120 ft (20 ft
, up to 10 minutes
For the duration, no sound can be created within or pass through a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range. Any creature or object entirely inside the sphere is immune to thunder damage, and creatures are deafened while entirely inside it. Casting a spell that includes a verbal component is impossible there.
Verbal Component (Alternative):
With mystic words, quiet all violence, I conjure forth a sphere of silence. Classes:
Bard, Cleric, RangerSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 275)
View Silence Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
Can Silence be cast on an object or creature?
No. According to a twitter post by Jeremy Crawford,
The silence spell is centered on a point in space, not on a creature or an object.
Note: Earlier editions allows Silence
to be cast on items, such as your shield. But, that has change.
What happens if Silence is cast on a "point in space" while on a moving vehicle?
is cast on a moving vehicle, the spell's central "point is space" is stationary and does not move with the vehicle. So, depending on the speed of the moving vehicle, the vehicle and it's riders may move away/toward the spell. Of course, it is always up to the DM to make a ruling in this case if they disagree.
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).