30 ft Components:
V, S, M
This spell lets you convince a beast that you mean it no harm. Choose a beast that you can see within range. It must see and hear you. If the beast's Intelligence is 4 or higher, the spell fails. Otherwise, the beast must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the spell's duration. If you or one of your companions harms the target, the spells ends.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, you can affect one additional beast for each slot level above 1st.
a morsel of food
Amicus con Bestia
Verbal Component (Alternative):
Beasts I say, to my will bend, hearken now and be my friend Classes:
Bard, Druid, Ranger, RogueDomain:
SocialSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 212)
View Animal Friendship Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
Does Animal Friendship work on a Wild Shaped druid?
The short answer is yes, if your druid has less than 4 intelligence.
Animal Friendship's spell description cite the creature's type (beast) and an intelligence requirement:
Choose a beast that you can see within range, It must see and hear you. If the beast's Intelligence is 4 or higher, the spell fails.
A Druids' Wild shape does
cause the player's creature type to change to beast.
With regard to intelligence, a druid retains their Intelligence while in Wild Shape form (PHB p67):
Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast, but you retain your alignment, personality, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature.
So, if the druid's intelligence is less than 4, the spell could take effect (they still need to fail the Wisdom saving throw).
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).