120 ft (20 ft
, up to 1 hour
You create a 20-foot-radius sphere of fog centered on a point within range. The sphere spreads around corners, and its area is heavily obscured. It lasts for the duration or until a wind of moderate or greater speed (at least 10 miles per hour) disperses it.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the radius of the fog increases by 20 feet for each slot level above 1st.
Verbal Component (Alternative):
Come forth mist, roll in and enshroud, I summon forth a great fog of cloud. Classes:
Druid, Ranger, Sorcerer, Wizard, RogueDomain:
EnvironmentSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 243)
View Fog Cloud Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
Can Create or Destroy Water destroy a Fog Cloud or fog from a Cloudkill spell?
As per Create or Destroy Water
you destroy fog in a 30-foot cube within range
Therefore, since Cloudkill
and Fog Cloud
are both considered fog, Create or Destroy Water
can destroy a 30-foot cube of the fog.
Note: both Fog Cloud
produces a 20-foot radius sphere of fog, so casting Create or Destroy Water
at level 1 would not remove the other cloud spells entirely - although it is up to the DM whether the clouds disperse or remains in certain areas.
To verify, on twitter, Jeremy Crawford stated:
Create or destroy water—the spell can destroy a 30-foot cube of fog. Fog cloud creates fog. CorDW can destroy a 30-foot cube of it.
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).