30 ft (30 ft
V, S, M
You either create or destroy water.
Create Water. You create up to 10 gallons of clean water within range in an open container. Alternatively, the water falls as rain in a 30-foot cube within range, extinguishing exposed flames in the area.
Destroy Water. You destroy up to 10 gallons of water in an open container within range. Alternatively, you destroy fog in a 30-foot cube within range.
When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, you create or destroy 10 additional gallons of water, or the size of the cube increases by 5 feet, for each slot level above 1st.
a drop of water if creating water or a few grains of sand if destroying it
Creo (Create) / Deletrius (Destroy) Aqua
Verbal Component (Alternative):
By mystical power, reality I alter, with these words I Create/Destroy water.
CreationSource: Player's Handbook [5th Edition] (page 229)
View Create or Destroy Water Spell Card
(New Window? )
Return to Previous Page
Below are commonly asked questions about this spell. Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to spell questions. If you have a FAQ about this spell that you feel other DM's may wish to know, please send us the message!
Can Create or Destroy Water destroy a Fog Cloud or fog from a Cloudkill spell?
As per Create or Destroy Water
you destroy fog in a 30-foot cube within range
Therefore, since Cloudkill
and Fog Cloud
are both considered fog, Create or Destroy Water
can destroy a 30-foot cube of the fog.
Note: both Fog Cloud
produces a 20-foot radius sphere of fog, so casting Create or Destroy Water
at level 1 would not remove the other cloud spells entirely - although it is up to the DM whether the clouds disperse or remains in certain areas.
To verify, on twitter, Jeremy Crawford stated:
Create or destroy water—the spell can destroy a 30-foot cube of fog. Fog cloud creates fog. CorDW can destroy a 30-foot cube of it.
Other Planes and Effects
Below is information about this spell as it relates to other planes and area of effects (i.e. underwater). Some of the information is pulled official D&D sources (such as books and the twitter feeds of D&D officials), but other information is derived from forums and online discussions. As always, it is up to the DM to decide how they wish to handle spell effects.
Underwater - Verbal Component
Official rules have been verified by Jeremy Crawford - "No rule prohibits verbal components from working underwater. Keep in mind that if you're talking, you're not holding your breath." Hence, while submerged underwater and holding its breath, a creature can cast a spell that requires a verbal component. After casting the spell, if the creature can't breathe underwater, it immediately runs out of breath. The creature can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier (minimum of 1 round).